The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 2, 2008, 10:32 PM   #1
NBS2005

Set up to run 100 rounds of 38 special in 30 minutes

OK, 9mm is out 'cause I want a revolver with a 6 inch barrel for target shooting and the don't make them. To save money I want to look at reloading.

I would be shooting 38 special only. I'm interested in target loads for accuracy out to 50 meters (about 55 yards). I want to do this for less than $0.19 a round you can buy 9mm from Wallys for. I can invest a couple of hundred in reloading equipment.

Where do I start?

FYI, I'm a chemist with about 20 years experience. I can be very careful and accurate (I've worked with stuff that can kill you quick). I wanted to stay away from reloading for exactly that reason, to much like work. But economics are giving me no alternatives for as much as I would like to shoot. And it sounds like some of the automated systems can run pretty smoothly with little involvement from the operator (once the machine is accurately loaded).

Thanks, as always.
Old October 2, 2008, 10:50 PM   #2
Smaug

It seems like you've got an eye towards safety, but when you're starting out, you want to forget all about speed. Take your time and make sure everything is right.

The safest way to reload is single stage, which is also the slowest. I load 100 rounds in about 2 hours, but it doesn't bother me at all. I'm having fun, and I can vistually inspect each case to make sure everything is right before seating bullets. For depriming & sizing, I do that while I'm watching TV, so I don't know if that counts.

Later, you can move to a progressive setup that will do the quantity stuff.

Reloaders usually like revolvers better, so we don't have to chase brass or load them hot enough to cycle the action.