The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Bolt, Lever, and Pump Action

Old December 12, 2017, 09:50 PM   #1
QuarterHorse

I may succumb

Please keep any negative or "catty" comments to yourself. I can't believe in a forum full of adults I need to ask this, but I'm busy and really don't care to weed through anyone's BS

This is a two fold post/question/vent/rant ha!

6.5 Creedmoor, I just want to dislike it. It's one of those things where every caliber that "comes out" is the "greatest caliber to ever be imagined". I hate that. I see it with the 22 Nosler, now the 224 Valkery, who knows whats next. This post isn't to debate those calibers, maybe your thoughts on the 6.5 CM if you choose. The difference being the Creedmoor has been out 10 years now and really gaining popularity. This, is where I start to sway. Everything I read ( I have no real world experience with it and have to go on what others report) says thing thing really is all that. It still being around and popular make me waver in my dislike for it and want to look at it in an upcoming rifle purchase.

The rifle:
In another post, I talked about going out west, doing a long range precision class in the spring, possibly two before heading out west, and I want a new gun just because. I mean hey why not!? I talked magnum because I don't have one, now I'm rethinking with the above. I also talked backpacking out west and will be toting the rifle with, however, won't lend well with a heavy rifle nor will my classes do well with a pencil barrel rifle either. The reality, I have to do a "multi-purpose" rifle purchase as I no longer feel confident in my Savage to get through a course after loads of reading on the older Mod 10, and hey, who doesn't want more guns!?