The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Lock and Load: Live Fire Exercises

Old May 15, 2014, 04:09 PM   #1
jeager106

Here's a shooting "position" to consider.

I was a career police officer in a viollent hi crime rate city of about 50K
I was disabled "in the line" in '94.
When I made Lt. I was put in chage of deadly force training, read firearms.
My Sgt. & I came up with some scenereos many might not think about.
We did plenty of practice at bad breath distances & Sarge came up with one
that might very well happen.
He lay on the ground with his head towards the "bad guy" target, simulating being knocked down on his back with the bad guy intending to do
neferious things to him.
He'd shoot over his head at the "bad guy" with his duty & off duty piece.
I tried it and it's way harder than one might think.
I clear missed the bad guy several times before I learned to hit the target.
It may be a fanciful exercise but one that might happen.
One wonders what others would think if you tried this at a public range though.
Old May 15, 2014, 04:18 PM   #2
Sharkbite

First.. Thanks for your service

Shooting from unconventential positions has become pretty mainstream in tactical training courses. Prone, supine, on both sides, under cars, thru holes in walls. All play a part in advanced tactical training. The proper use of cover is also stressed

How about shooting someone that has grabbed you in a rear naked choke?... Its harder to do then you might think. On your back with an attacker on top of you?? You on top of them??
Old May 16, 2014, 12:53 AM   #3
jeager106

I had a situation, the one that ended my career, when NOT going for my pistol was the right thing to do. ( I think )
I was 48, 5'10, 170, "he" was 23, 6-2, 220 & stoned on crack.
I had secured a warrent for him for aggrevated robbery, spotted him in the hood. He ran, I chased without a prayer of catching him but he tripped & I was on him, but who had who?