The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 22, 2015, 11:10 PM   #1
Ariandis

44 Mag Reloading

Greetings!

I have recently acquired a Ruger Redhawk in .44 Mag. Due to the cost of ammo, I'm going to reload it.

I was able to acquire some 2400. I will also be using Unique if I can ever find any.

With that in mind, do you think these will be sufficient for both powders? Would this style be better?

I will be using anywhere from 17 to 21 grains with the 2400 and 8 grains or so with the Unique.

Also, what are your experiences, if any, with the Missouri Bullet Company?

Thanks for the feedback!
Old February 22, 2015, 11:26 PM   #2
Sevens

I have zero experience with Missouri bullet -- have never ordered and never used their product. However, in many years in guns and handloading forums, it is safe to say that they are extremely popular and have a HUGE following of very satisfied customers.

Your powder choices are terrific. I have no idea how those coated bullets will work but I suspect that they will do well.

I use a non-coated hard cast lead 240gr LSWC from Falcon and I run them from 870 fps (steel plate target loads) to full-bore (chrono'd 1,385 fps average) both from my 7.5-inch barreled Redhawk with a four-port Mag-na-Port job on it and my loads are fantastic.

My light loads are pushed by a small charge of Titegroup. They hit a plate a bit harder than does .45 Hardball, and from the large revolver, they are a pleasure to shoot. The heavy ones are pushed by Accurate#9 and I don't have any tangible use for them except the fun of a full load. I have been known to bench rest the revolver and send them 100 yards to hit a swinging steel plate. I plan to do a lot more of that this season.
Old February 23, 2015, 08:38 AM   #3
oldpapps

Ariandis, welcome to the forum.

You don't state your use/uses for these loads.