The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old December 24, 2017, 11:35 AM   #1
kbialick

NJ transport laws

Hi everyone I’m looking to get my NH non resident cc permit so that I can carry while in PA since I frequently travel there. I’m curious about the legality of transporting my gun to and from pa while doing so. I know the nj laws for interstate travel with a handgun but those seem to be while driving through nj not as a nj resident transferring to and from. I always knew the law in nj that unless you were going to or from a range with the shortest route possible and no stops you couldn’t transport a handgun in your car. Anyone have any info on this
Old December 24, 2017, 01:28 PM   #2
44 AMP
Staff

I'm not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV, and I didn't stay at a Howard Johnson's last night. This is not legal advice, just my opinion, and worth what you paid for it. That being said...

If you are a resident of state A, then you fall under state A's rules, (all that apply) while you are inside state A's borders. When you cross the border into another state, you fall under that state's laws as a non-resident.

The Federal FOPA provides some legal protection if you are transiting (just passing through) but you are never "just passing through" your home state of residence.

If I understand correctly, you live in NJ, and are getting a NH non-resident permit, to use in PA (which I assume honors them). Tricksy.....

NJ allows carry to the range, and back (sort of), so I would suggest that you find a range in PA, one that gives receipts. You may operate in PA as PA allows under your NH permit, but once you cross back into NJ, (who does not honor your NH permit) if you aren't going to, or coming back from a range (or any of the few other allowed locations) then you ARE violating NJ law.