The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old May 19, 2018, 01:58 PM   #1
keithdog

Ruger PC Carbine bad- Ruger service worse

My new PC Carbine doesn't work, even after being shipped in for repair. There are some who have suggested this isn't so shocking, considering the gun is new to market. I whole heartedly agree. But ever since I started learning about firearms and buying some myself, I have heard that Ruger makes a good product that they stand by. I have been told Ruger's customer service is second to none. The PCC has been stated, again and again (other than hickock 45's first review on the thing), to be utterly reliable so long as its maintained and run properly.
I can't imagine the fault lies with me- I have had ten firearms, 8 of which have been semi automatics. Of those 8, five have been Ruger products. All have performed exactly as advertised so long as I loaded the weapon properly and took care to clean and oil between range trips. The PC Carbine is the only one of my 8 semi autos to fail like this.
Naturally I sent it in for repair (it wouldn't eject casings, be they steel or brass). The thing came back, and to be fair, I was able to get through 2 of 3 magazines without failures to eject, which is significantly better than what was. However, the gun now doublefeeds frequently and fails to put rounds into battery. I'm not sure what jam that would be called- they get rammed up and to the left, kind of twisting into the side next to the chamber.