The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 15, 2017, 07:39 AM   #1
Roland Thunder

Dillon 550b Shell Plate bolt

I have a Dillon 550b and I cannot get the index sprocket to slide down the shell plate bolt. It seems to be sticking up near the head of the bolt. I was going to slide the sprocket down and remove it so I can clean them both but I can't get it to. Anyone have this issue.

Maybe I should just get a new bolt and sprocket from Dillon.
Old April 15, 2017, 09:14 AM   #2
dahermit

I have been using my Dillon 550b for more than twenty years. For many years, the bolt and the indexing star seemed, as you have observed, to be "stuck" together via the recess in the bolt. Nevertheless, after years of removing it and cleaning, changing index plates, etc., it now comes apart. The two parts of dissimilar metals (Aluminum alloy star, steel bolt), they will eventually wear somewhat as mine has and be easier to separate. As to your problem with it, I suggest not worrying about it, just clean it as best you can. I certainly would not try to force them apart. I would not ask Dillon for a replacement...I doubt that they are going to think it is "broken".
Old April 15, 2017, 09:16 AM   #3
Master Blaster

Mine has also locked itself in place probably by scoring a ridge/ raising a burr on the bolt over 20 years of use. It spins freely but I can not remove it from the Bolt.

I have just left it on there, really no need to remove it for a caliber change. You should call Dillon and ask. Let us know what they say.
Old April 15, 2017, 09:58 AM   #4
Martys

Not really a problem to pursue. Mine was stuck for years but suddenly one day it separated. Just one of those things not to worry about.
Old April 15, 2017, 10:02 AM   #5
Unclenick
Staff