The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting > Bullet Casting

Old August 14, 2020, 11:17 AM   #1
BJung

How do you remove your cast bullets?

I'm new to casting and have started with Lee molds. I clean and treat the molds with matches thoroughly. When casting, sometimes the bullets don't fall out so I give the mold a shake. Then, I tap the steel portion of the handle and the bullet falls out. If that doesn't work, I use the magic words, "Damn **!" and pull the bullet out with a pair of need nose pliers. Does anyone have any other suggestions or warnings?
Old August 14, 2020, 03:13 PM   #2
mehavey

Rawhide and/or wood hammer (or just a piece of 1.5"x1.5" lumber)
and smack-smack-smack the mold handles hinge.

It'll always loosen up/fall out with that
Old August 14, 2020, 10:11 PM   #3
FrankenMauser

Tappy-tap-tap is the most I will allow. (And I prefer avoiding that, as well.)
If I have to use a tool to extract a bullet, the mold gets set aside for inspection and deburring.

Deburring of aluminum and brass molds is done with a razor blade, gently run around the parting lines, in a manner that will not allow it to cause damage - but only remove a burr.
I haven't had to do a steel/iron mold, yet.
Old August 14, 2020, 10:32 PM   #4
dahermit

Quote:
Originally Posted by mehavey View Post
Rawhide and/or wood hammer (or just a piece of 1.5"x1.5" lumber)
and smack-smack-smack the mold handles hinge.

It'll always loosen up/fall out with that
I have not seen a rawhide hammer in years, let alone one for sale.
Old August 14, 2020, 11:14 PM   #5
JohnKSa
Staff

You can find them online from a number of sources.
Old August 14, 2020, 11:54 PM   #6
BJung

tin in the mix

My cast pistol bullets eventually fall out with a tip-tap-tap and I tap on the hinge too but with the wooden handle of a wire brush. For .45 and .38 the lead is range lead