The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 22, 2006, 12:30 AM   #1
mgdavis

What do I have, what do I need?

My Grandpa sent me a couple boxes of "stuff" for my birthday. A large part of the contents were reloading gear. I'm pretty much a neophyte when it comes to reloading, and I'm not sure how complete a set-up I got, or even what some of the things are. As near as I can tell there are two RCBS Reloader Special presses, and dies(?) for .338 and 22-250 (could be one other, can't remember at the moment. I've got a scale. The plastic hopper dispenses powder. Past that, I'm clueless. I'd like to load .223 and .38's. What do I need that I don't have? What would be nice to have that I don't? Do I have anything that's useless?
I know the "I'm new to reloading" questions come up all the time, but maybe the pictures will get you intrested enough to answer.

pic1
pic2
pic3
pic4
pic5
Old September 22, 2006, 01:05 AM   #2
cpaspr

Here's my take:

I'll tell you what I see, but you need to know what you're doing before you get started. Have a knowledgable reloader help you, or if you're good with books read, read, read till you are absolutely positive you know what you're doing. Even better is read first, then get guidance.

Okay, here goes:

Pic 5 is the holder for the primer catcher in pic 4 (top right). I'm pretty sure it will fit on the right-hand press, with the slots for the hold down bolts. Not sure if it will work with the beefier press on the left.