The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old April 5, 2020, 03:29 PM   #1
rc

Is this legal?

I'm confused how silencer parts can be advertised as oil filters and sold to the public. Somebody explain this too me... Ok, now this is not a drive by post.

https://www.lafoauto.com/
Old April 5, 2020, 03:44 PM   #2
TX Nimrod

I am not a lawyer and I do not give legal advice. I did read the following several years ago:

https://www.thefirearmblog.com/blog/...-use-intended/

.22LR - .223 - .22-250 - .243 - 6mm REM - .25-20 - .25-35 - .25 BB - .250/3000 - .257 WBY - .260 - .30 M1 - .300 BO - .30 Herrett - .300 Savage - .32 H&R - .303 - .338-06 - .338 WM - .35 REM - .38-55 - .45 LC - .45-70 - .50-70
Old April 5, 2020, 05:10 PM   #3
dahermit

Wow! That begs the question for me: Does an oil filter screwed on the barrel of a gun actually suppress the sound? As a young person (many, many years ago), there was always some yahoo who would say in a sage manner, "...if you put a condom (or baby bottle nipple), on the end of .22 rimfire, it will work as a silencer." By actually testing those items, I found that the "sage" did not know what he was talking about...they did not work.

So, would an oil filter actually significantly suppress the sound of firing or is that just more condom/nipple nonsense from the sage at the end of the bar?
Old April 5, 2020, 05:26 PM   #4
Sharkbite

Quote:
Does an oil filter screwed on the barrel of a gun actually suppress the sound?
The short answer...YES. There were tons of youtube vids of the “old style” actual Fram type oil filters screwed onto the end of 22’s that clearly reduced the sound. I may or may not have seen them first hand at the local club. Ive always just shot my tax stamped legal suppressors.

The legalities were always explained as such...

It is a solvent trap. Nothing else...once it had a hole in the end (from an exiting bullet) you could no longer make that claim