The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old March 19, 2020, 04:49 PM   #1
2wheelwander

One suppressor for rifle and pistol (piston?)

I'm brand new to this so bear with me. Looking at the 'solvent trap' kits. I will be filing a form 1 and staying legal. Lets get that out of the way.

So, technical question. D size solvent trap/suppressor kits. I'd like to run one can on an AR and a CZ Scorpion. My question is, do I need to worry about function on the CZ with a dedicated pistol can with a piston??

Or, am I overthinking this and can expect both to cycle fine? I doubt I'd do more than experiment with subsonic ammo and run normal loads 95% of the time. I do hand load.

TIA
Old March 19, 2020, 04:56 PM   #2
FrankenMauser

Blow-back with a fixed barrel, right?
If so, no piston required.
The extra back pressure may beat the hell out of the gun, though.
Old March 19, 2020, 05:53 PM   #3
2wheelwander

Yes its a fixed barrel. Elaborate on beating up the gun FrankenMauser. I'm new to this. Do you mean running full house loads? I run target loads through the CZ, nothing hot. Same for my AR's. They're toys, not home defense.
Old March 19, 2020, 07:24 PM   #4
FrankenMauser

Increased back pressure may (and likely, will) result in increased bolt velocity, which takes its toll on the recoil system - and the frame, in some designs*.

Think of the bolt/slide like a hammer. With every trigger pull, it goes sailing backward, only being stopped from slamming into something by some springs. Over time the springs weaken.
Now, increase the force of the hammer by adding back pressure. The springs get compressed more. They get 'hit' harder, and they weaken even faster.

Anything else in the recoil system will take the extra stress, as well: hard stops, clips, pins, screws, whatever may be stressed in the recoil system.