The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old April 15, 2018, 10:08 AM   #1
vtchopperdude

Thompson M1 sight keeps coming loose!!!

Fellas, I'm at a lose. I have a Auto-Ordnance Thompson M1 that I SBRed years ago. The sight is held on with 4 screws that will not stay tight. Usually after 2 magazines they will loosen up and I actually lost one of the screws yesterday while at the range. I have used blue loctite, red loctite, and even had my buddy tac tig them on, and they STILL manage to rattle loose. Is there a rivet option that would work? I'm not a Thompson expert, but I would assume that the sight had to have been riveted on originally. No way the GIs were having this issue...

Thanks for yals advice
Old April 15, 2018, 11:03 AM   #2
Theohazard

I’m surprised that it keeps coming loose even with all the fixes you’ve tried. Since your question has more to do with a repair issue and less to do with the fact this is an NFA item, I’d recommend asking a mod to move this thread to the gunsmithing subforum. You’ll probably get a lot more good answers there than you will here.
Old April 15, 2018, 11:13 AM   #3
44 AMP
Staff

Just to be clear, are you talking about the Auto-Ordnance M1 semi auto??

and, if so, is the receiver steel??? The "lightweight" models (listed at about one pound lighter weight) used Aluminum alloy though I don't know remember if it was the upper, the lower, or both.

If your upper isn't steel, that could be why the screws don't stay tight.

I have one of the deluxe 1927A1s, all steel and wood. Never had any issues with anything coming loose.
Old April 15, 2018, 11:20 AM   #4
vtchopperdude

yes, the semi-auto version that you can buy new from Auto-Ordnance
Old April 15, 2018, 11:45 AM   #5
44 AMP
Staff

ok, a friend of mine has one of those, had it switched to the SBR version a little while ago, after his approval came through. I'll take a look at it the next time I visit him.