The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old November 25, 2011, 09:06 AM   #1
ak-kev

Griswold replica question

Hey guys, hope you all had a great Thanksgiving! I have an opportunity to buy a ( Navy Arms) Uberti G&G , date code 1980 for probably 175ish. Its in pretty good shape, never fired, but cruddy from sitting for 30 years. It should clean up very nice.

However, Cabellas has the Pietta version for 172.00 brand new. My question is: Is the new Pietta quality better than the older Uberti quality? Is there any reason for me to buy the older Uberti (other than me being brand-loyal) over the new Pietta? Could I have your opinions please. Thank you. Kevin.
Old November 25, 2011, 09:35 AM   #2
Rawg the Huug

IMO, no reason to buy the older vs. the new, but others will invariably have more info than I do...I'm no expert. If you gotta clean it up anyway, you might as well get a newer gun.

I think the functionality of both brands is fairly parallel & the main difference is in finish & fit, though I understand that Pietta has improved upon their fitting of parts.

If you intend to pretty up a gun with engraving & refinishing, might as well get a gun that will cost less to start with. I understand brand loyalty, though...if I'm gonna buy a guitar I turn my nose up at anything that isn't a Fender. Isn't the G&G a brass framed pistol? I didn't know Uberti made those...like I said, I'm no expert.
Old November 25, 2011, 09:58 AM   #3
ak-kev

Thank you for your thoughts sir. You are correct, Uberti doesnt make the G&G currently. Thats why I'm considering this older one. I just dont want to buy a crapper.
Old November 25, 2011, 11:04 AM   #4
Fingers McGee