The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 17, 2016, 11:10 AM   #1
Nick_C_S

Going to start loading 223 for AR

I've been loading for handguns for over 30 years; but have yet to load a single rifle cartridge.

I have two AR-15 lowers that will be assembled soon. The remainder forthcoming shortly thereafter. I figure to have two working AR's by Spring.

Anyway, I need to buy some factory ammo that has good brass, suitable for reloading. What I wanted to know, would these be a good choice? . . .

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/412...e-of-1000-bulk

Thank you in advance,
Nick.
Old February 17, 2016, 11:44 AM   #2
Gadawg88

I personally do not care for FC stamped brass in .223. When I first started loading the caliber, I had several hundred FC American Eagle .223 cases that I was working with. I quickly found that the primer pockets tend to loosen up after just two or three loads (upper mid-range, not max). If you do some internet searching on the topic, you will see it is a commonly reported issue. I can't say with complete authority that it will be an issue with evry piece of FC stamped brass, but it was for me. If you want to stock-up on loadable brass I would look elsewhere. There are online sources for once fired LC brass at reasonable prices.
Old February 17, 2016, 12:45 PM   #3
FrankenMauser

Lake City, Hornady, PPU, and Remington brass has treated me well for .223 Rem. (LC requires primer pocket swaging or reaming for crimp removal.)

FC is hit-and-miss.
Old February 17, 2016, 06:25 PM   #4
JeepHammer

It depends on what you are reloading for,
Extreme accuracy takes a lot of case work,
While general target ammo doesn't require as much, or as tight of prepration.

Military crimped primers take a one time trim or swage to remove the crimp so the new primer glides into place without issues, (see primer crimp in the link you posted)