The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 24, 2009, 04:08 PM   #1
wyobohunter

What 1st, tumble or size?

I recently got an RCBS vibratory case cleaner so I'm new to this step and just used to wipe the cases with a rag. Should I deprime/resize 1st to let the cleaner help clean the primer pocket or clean cases first to help protect my dies from potential grit? Thanks.
Old December 24, 2009, 04:23 PM   #2
JD 500

Tumble First.

Some tumble after as well to clean primer pockets, I don't. I find if you tumble after sizing, you find tumbling media stuck in flash hole.

I do clean primer pockets every time, with a primer pocket brush that doesn't inadvertantly change the size of the pocket.

Good luck.
Old December 24, 2009, 04:25 PM   #3
FlyFish

I like to clean cases first, for the reason you mention. My experience has been that the primer pockets don't really get very clean anyway, and I don't care about clean primer pockets for any of my pistol ammo and most of my rifle ammo.

ETA: I do tumble rifle ammo after sizing to remove the sizing lubricant. The media will get stuck in the flash holes, so I use a universal decapping die in the first station of my LnL progressive press to remove it.
Old December 24, 2009, 05:03 PM   #4
firewrench044

What I do

Tumble ( to clean case so they do not damage dies )
Clean inside of case neck with a bronse brush in a drill
Size & deprime, inspect for defects
Any and all case work ( clean primer pockets, deburr flash holes
( a deburred flash hole very seldome holds cleaning media )
Remove primer crimp ( if needed )
Trim case and deburr case mouth as needed
Final tumble ( smooths case mouths, removes any case lub used,
cleans and polishes cases ( I prefer a shinny case )
All cases are checked in a case gage
Stored for future use
Old December 24, 2009, 07:15 PM   #5
Randy 1911