The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old February 16, 2010, 09:08 AM   #1
justinfranks

Help with buying new rifle?

Hello all. I am a newb so bear with me. I am a big gun lover and own several. I own a HK G3 and am looking at getting a "companion" for it. I like the larger calibers but am going with a rifle in 5.56 because they do tend to be lighter and the ammo is for sure. I have been looking at: SIG556, Benelli MR-1, MSAR/AUG, and Ruger Mini-14. I have heard a few bad things about the Ruger and as a whole I do want something capable of shooting 300 meters fairly well. I am a National Guardsman so I do know the M-4/ AR will do that but as a Guardsman I also know of the issues they have had and want to stay clear of them. Had to many buddies deployed that have had issues with them. NO M4/ AR!!YES, if you " keep em' clean" they are good but I dont wanna have to really "worry" bout that. I would like to stay in the $1500 range. I know that kinda shortens choices... Any ideas guys?
Thanks

Last edited by justinfranks; February 16, 2010 at 09:17 AM.
Old February 16, 2010, 09:15 AM   #2
kaylorinhi

Mine is a DPMS PantherLite 16, not bad but spend the extra 2 or 3 for the next step up. Also to the list of finger fudge at the store should be the S&W M&P-15 series.
Old February 16, 2010, 09:20 AM   #3
crimsondave

The mini 14 is not known for being terribly accurate, though I'm sure some are fine. The only SIG556 belongs to a friend of mine. It is really nice. Shoots very well. Don't know about others.

Have you considered a bolt action, or are you just wanting an automatic?
Old February 16, 2010, 09:26 AM   #4
justinfranks

I am looking for an automatic, yes. I have had many push the M-4 but I just don't want one.
Old February 16, 2010, 09:39 AM   #5
gotigers

Benelli: http://www.impactguns.com/store/11800.html

Kel-tec: http://www.impactguns.com/store/640832000856.html