The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 25, 2013, 01:08 AM   #1
lakesidemn

Need HELP with .32 S&W Long

I've got a Dillon 550b that I am trying to setup lead wadcutter reloading for my .32 S&W Long competition pistol (Benelli MP90s). The problem is that I end up shaving lead off most of the rounds and its driving me crazy!

Stats:
1) Lapua 98gr LWC .313 bullets
2) Once fired brass from Fiocchi rounds (G.F.L. 32 Wad Cut)
3) RCBS carbide resize/deprime die
4) Dillon powder drop die
5) Redding Seating Die
6) Redding Profile Crimp Die

I assume I need a different die mix because the mouth and case need to be wider, but I'm not sure what to use. I've only been loading .45 ACP, so I am a rookie at anything but my .45. I bow to the real experts on this forum

Thank you,

Steve
Old February 25, 2013, 02:13 AM   #2
FrankenMauser

It has been a while since I dealt with the particulars of the parts in the .32 S&W Long quick change kit.
Is that powder funnel / case expander .30 caliber or .32 caliber? (~.308" or ~.312"?)
Old February 25, 2013, 05:55 AM   #3
Alferd Packer