The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old November 25, 2011, 03:52 AM   #1
HistoryJunky

Tokarev build

So I was looking online for holidays specials on firearms and came across a few sites selling incomplete Romanian Tokarev kits fro $99. They include major parts like barrel, slide, frame, and some other stuff.

My question is, if I acquired the rest of the parts to complete the firearm, how difficult would it be to build it? What would be required? I have very little experience working on firearms, and it just seemed like it would be a fun project. I've shot a Tokarev before and I really liked it so this seems like it would be a neat way to actually own one. I tried searching on Google for about 30 minutes for people talking about building Tokarevs to no avail. Does anyone here have an idea of the difficulty level of this?
Old November 25, 2011, 09:55 AM   #2
CWKahrFan

Warnings are right there in the ad; incomplete... sold as-is...
Sounds like a headache-in-waiting to me... I'd say the kits are mostly meant for those who already have a couple of Toks and are looking for some replacement parts.

The complete guns are only $190 (at jgsales.com).
Old November 25, 2011, 10:23 AM   #3
HistoryJunky

Yeah you might be right about their intended purpose. I was just thinking of it as a possibly fun project to take up some of my spare time. Realistically after I gathered up the rest of the parts I needed it'd probably cost about the same as the Tokarevs from J & G Sales.
Old November 25, 2011, 11:37 AM   #4
CWKahrFan

I have a Yugoslavian M57 which I really like A LOT. From what I've read, the Yugos are generally considered the best of that breed. They're available from a couple of sources like slickguns.com:

http://www.slickguns.com/product/yug...-zastava-19900

and Sovereign Guns on gunbroker.com...

I can't vouch for these dealers specifically, but my M57 is really nice.

You may be interested in these threads: