The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old July 10, 2008, 12:57 PM   #1
hogdogs
Staff In Memoriam

Oil or Nevrseize on choke threads?

Which is better? Limited to no choke swapping to worry about mess but don't want one seized up from rust or heat... I have no hands on experience with them.
Brent
Old July 10, 2008, 01:15 PM   #2
JWT

Get lube that is specifically made for choke tubes. These type lubes are made for choke tubes and prevent them from seizing up. Midway USA carries several brands including Brileys.
Old July 10, 2008, 01:51 PM   #3
Juhosaphat

Are you saying you only want to use one and don't want to have to worry about rust or seizing up? Or you want to be able to switch them out without having to worry about it? If you want one choke only, get loctite red. That stuff never comes loose and is non-corrosive. They use it on engine bolts. If you want to be able to swap them out easily, get the mentioned choke oil. Either one will take care of either situation
Old July 10, 2008, 01:56 PM   #4
hogdogs
Staff In Memoriam

I do not own multiple chokes... yet. I do not want to fear it ever seizing. I would like to know that when I choose to put in a different tube, it will part from the barrel with little effort and ZERO damage. Thus red loctite is OFF LIMITS to me..
Brent
Old July 10, 2008, 01:57 PM   #5
cxg231

Hogdogs - just my opinion, but I would use a thick hi-temp grease like a lithium grease for brake calipers. It will prevent rust and should not seize under pretty much any conditions since it will not migrate under heat.

Plus you can get a big ol tube of it that will last you practically forever for like $5 at the local auto store.

However, opinions are like you-know-whats, everyone has one.
Old July 10, 2008, 02:38 PM   #6
hogdogs
Staff In Memoriam