The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old June 25, 2018, 07:03 PM   #1
Rangerrich99

Handgun sights "zeroed"?

Like the title says, are handgun sights zeroed for any specific distance?

I don't know why, as I've been shooting rifle/pistol/shotgun for over three decades now, but I just never really thought about whether handguns were zeroed to a specific distance. Last night I was looking for the directions to a set of CT grip panels and noticed that they said the laser was zeroed for 50 feet, which got me thinking.
Old June 25, 2018, 07:23 PM   #2
Doyle

Personally, I believe that even IF the handgun had good enough sights to zero that factory zeroing for a specific distance would be futile. That's because the point of impact on a handgun is far too subjective. Change almost anything - stance, hold, and especially ammo and the POI will change significantly.
Old June 25, 2018, 08:06 PM   #3
Drm50

I sand bag all my handguns and sight in for practical range the gun will be used
for. Target guns at 25', field 22s at 36' and the big bore field guns at 50'. You
still have to get use to hold over or under unless you shoot only at one distance.

I tune mine at night. I cut a window in a card board box and tape a sheet of
white paper over the window. The paper is marked with a black Flare marker
in a simple cross, quartering the paper. Have small light inside the box. I am
sitting in the dark and getting perfect sight picture on the illuminated white
paper. I first concentrate on windage, hitting the vertical line. Then fine tune
in for elevation. With this method there is no distraction the only thing you can
see is your sights on the target paper. Pistols are all iron sights but I have done
22lrs rifles / scopes this way. Your only restrictions are how long of a extension
cord you have for the light. 22 pistols I actually do in my basement, if wife isn't
home.