The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 28, 2009, 08:32 PM   #1
sthrnfryedyankee

Does headspace have to be

readjusted when you do your own reloading? I am considering getting into reloading but want to be as safe as possible.
Old March 28, 2009, 08:39 PM   #2
kraigwy

I'm not sure I understand what you're asking. Once you set up your die to size the case to proper headspace, it can be locked down with the locking ring, But I ALWAYS check anyway when I start a loading project.
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
Old March 28, 2009, 08:44 PM   #3
sthrnfryedyankee

I wasnt sure if all brass (I will use 7mm rem mag brass for example) was the same size from manufacturer to manufacturer. Does bullet seating depth affect headspace? I am VERY new to these questions and i may not be aking them correctly.
Old March 28, 2009, 09:31 PM   #4
kraigwy

Quote:
Does bullet seating depth affect headspace?
No Sir; but it does effect accuracy and pressure.

The 7 RM head spaces on the belt, (as do most belted magnums). Rimless cases headspace on the shoulder. Rimmed cased headsapce on the Rim, except for rimmed cased in the TC which head space on the shoulder (like the 30-30, 30 Herrit etc which has a rim but headspaces on the shoulder in the TC). Straight wall cases like the 45ACP and 9 MM head space on the mouth.
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
Old March 28, 2009, 09:41 PM   #5
sthrnfryedyankee

Ok, excellent thank you. I am going to ask around and see if anyone has any reloading manuals that anyone is lookin to part with. IS 1 reloading manual as good as another? I am still not sure if I want to get into reloading but I figure a few books would be a great place to start
Old March 29, 2009, 12:21 AM   #6
FrankenMauser