The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old November 4, 2010, 09:53 PM   #1
therealdeal

gift firearm to father

hello,

I have seen these threads before but haven't really paid that much attention because it never pertained to me. I am considering buying my father a revolver for SD&HD but mainly protection while he hikes(he is retired and hikes long distances through states+wildernesses//he owns no firearm). He is a resident in MA and I am a resident in VA. Can I buy a gift revolver for him and bring it to him in MA when we visit? Obviously once its in his home its his duty to make sure its legal to pack it outside the property. Also I already own some firearms, so if its easier can I just give him one that I already own that I never planned on giving away in the first place??

"Abraham Lincoln freed all men, but Sam Colt made them all equal." (post Civil War slogan)
Old November 4, 2010, 09:57 PM   #2
therealdeal

thank you also+my dad has never been arrested&is a vietnam veteran

"Abraham Lincoln freed all men, but Sam Colt made them all equal." (post Civil War slogan)
Old November 5, 2010, 08:07 AM   #3
KyJim

You may want to post this in the Law and Legal Rights forum here. http://thefiringline.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=41
Old November 5, 2010, 08:45 AM   #4
carguychris

Quote:
Can I buy a gift revolver for him and bring it to him in MA when we visit?... Also I already own some firearms, so if its easier can I just give him one that I already own that I never planned on giving away in the first place??
Either way, the revolver needs to be legally transfered to him through an FFL. FTF handgun transfers across state lines are a Big No-No.

Also, before you ask, a MA FFL cannot sell you a handgun directly while you're visiting; it would have to go through a FFL in your home state.

I would suggest finding a FFL in his area and buying him a gift certificate.
Old November 5, 2010, 09:13 AM   #5