The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old June 9, 2019, 05:42 PM   #1
GarandTd

Shooting Prone

I've been toying around with the idea of attending an Appleseed event. I spoke with the gentleman that runs it in my area. He offered to meet up with me at my local club sometime to do a qualifying shoot. It was a generous offer, but I want the full experience and I don't think I'll take him up on his offer. He did give me a few targets to test my skills, practice, or whatever.

Today at the range, I decided to try shooting prone. I've never tried before. I did this at the 50 yard range on a foam mat. I used my 22lr Marlin 981t(bolt action) with a cheap 3-9x40 scope and my recent PSA 5.56 AR-15 build with back up irons. I didn't use a sling on either...although, I know that is part of the Appleseed shoots.

I was impressed with the results and would like to work on honing this skill. The sights definitely moved more and shooting this way was a little tougher than bench shooting. Do those of you well versed in this position have any tips for me?
Old June 9, 2019, 05:48 PM   #2
Don Fischer

Yes. Be sure you get the tension out of your lower back. Sight on the target and when you think you have a good hold, close your eyes and really relax. Few moments the open your eyes and see if your still aiming at the same spot. If not, move your feet toward the direction your off till you get the tension out. You'll find it works in every position and the more you do it the easier it is to simply fall into the right position.
Old June 9, 2019, 06:26 PM   #3
DaleA

Quote:
Sight on the target and when you think you have a good hold, close your eyes and really relax. Few moments the open your eyes and see if your still aiming at the same spot. If not, move your feet toward the direction your off till you get the tension out.
This is an excellent tip.