The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 14, 2011, 06:30 AM   #1
jhenshey

Minimum Overall Cartridge Length

I have been reloading for several years now, but have just recently begun reloading for long distance shooting. I have read how it is important to determine the "jump" to the lands that a particular rifle likes and provides its best accuracy with. This requires measuring the length of the chamber and subtracting the desired stand off distance from the lands. Now for the question:

Does anyone know of a reference for minimum overall cartridge length? The only reloading book I know of that provides it is the Lee reloading manual, which doesn't contain data for the cartrige I'm trying to develop right now (.338 Lapua).

Everyone stresses how pushing the bullet too far into the case can raise pressures to dangerous levels, especially with max loads. I raise the question because in long range shooting you often use max loads and excessive pressue can obviously be very dangerouse. So if this is so important why don't reloading data publishers include a minimum overall cartridge length to keep us away from these dangerous pressures?

Thanks for any help you can provide. I'm new to this forum and look forward to the vast amount of knowledge and experiene that I'm certain is available here.

Regards,

Jon
Old February 14, 2011, 08:23 AM   #2
billnourse

Get a Hornady "Overall Length gauge". This will give you the length of your round with a particular bullet set against the lands. You can then start loading with different overall lengths to determine what works best in your rifle. I usually start with .020" off of the lands, except for Barnes bullets. Barnes recommends .050" for their bullets.

Bill