The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 6, 2013, 12:33 PM   #1
Eomfd

Low pressure problem?

I am new to reloading and started my first 9mm batch the other day. I am loading 115 gr rainer plated RN with new Remington brass, CCI primer, and IMR SR 4756. I followed my load data which stated the starting charge be 4.5 grains. I loaded 20 rounds and each round I fired would not cycle to the next round. Also, my barrel would be extremely dirty only after a few rounds. Here is a picture of my casings after I would manually cycle each round. Any help out advice would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Casing.jpg (21.9 KB, 74 views)
File Type: jpg Barrel.jpg (14.9 KB, 53 views)

Last edited by Eomfd; November 6, 2013 at 12:50 PM.
Old November 6, 2013, 12:44 PM   #2
tangolima

Didn't see your picture. But can you tell us a bit more details? I suppose the pistol extracted and ejected the spent brass ok, but it failed to feed a new round. So the new round was still in the magazine, and the slide just rode over it? Did you chronograph the load?

-TL
Old November 6, 2013, 12:47 PM   #3
Eomfd

The casing didn't even eject. I had to manualy rack the slide back in order to eject the spent case and then release the slide to cycle in a new round. The same problem occured on every round. Also, being new to reloading I do not have any capablities to chronograph anything.
Old November 6, 2013, 12:50 PM   #4
chiefr

Never heard of anyone using that powder with 9mm
Old November 6, 2013, 12:51 PM   #5
Eomfd

I plan on going to the range today and will post more pictures of the non cycling problem actually in the weapon.
Old November 6, 2013, 01:10 PM   #6
jwrowland77

Low pressure problem?

My guess would be that if it's not cycling your pistol, then yes, it doesn't have enough umph to make the slide do it's job.