The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 13, 2017, 02:25 PM   #1
kmw1954

Remington Small pistol primers

Looking for feedback on Remington small pistol primers.

I have one pistol that does not like CCI primers. I'm getting very small dimples with them and FTF, never an issue with this gun using Winchester primers.

Unfortunately I'm unable to find any Winchester WSP locally but I have located one shop that has the Remington in stock.

I have no experience with Remington primers which is why I'm asking.
Old March 13, 2017, 02:53 PM   #2
Sevens

In 25+ years at the bench and loading in high volume over the last decade, it just so happens that I have used nearly every primer offered EXCEPT Remington, so I can't help you with Remington.

I can tell you that CCI is what I have used most over decades and I trust them 100%. If I had a handgun that would not detonate a CCI primer, I would address the handgun and not the primer. The one exception is a well, well known scenario of a highly tuned S&W custom revolver with the lightest possible double action and it simply requires a Federal primer.
Old March 13, 2017, 03:31 PM   #3
kmw1954

Thanks, that was helpful!

The only ammunition this gun has a problem with is with CCI primers. Every load, factory or otherwise has all fired in this gun.
Old March 13, 2017, 04:25 PM   #4
reddog81

I've always thought CCI and Remington were the hardest, then Winchester and then Federal being the softest. This is based on nothing but what I've read on the internet.

I use CCI or Winchester. i did note that when using a lighten recoil spring in my GP100 the CCI primers wouldn't ignite while Winchestors would work. However this does nothing to help your situation, however my experiences mirror yours.
Old March 13, 2017, 11:27 PM   #5
BigJimP