The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 6, 2005, 09:43 PM   #1
.30-06 Springfield

30-06 Primers

Hey,
I'm new to reloading and I was wondering what primers to use?
I read where it says 30-06 needs medium burning powder to be most efficent.
So I think regular rifle primers but at the local gun store they told me to use magmun primers and I would get a better load.
So which one is better regular or magnum?
I use IMR4350 powder.
Old May 6, 2005, 09:49 PM   #2
Mal H
Staff

First of all, welcome to TFL!

Two pieces of advice are in order: 1) you'll often find that folks at gun shops don't always know what they are talking about. A blanket statement like that is irresponsible.
2) if you don't have one or two reloading manuals, you need to get them before you can think about any serious reloading.

IMR4350 doesn't require a magnum primer so a standard one is what you need. It isn't a question of which primer type is better, they are designed to ignite different types of powders. Think of it as similar to octane in gasoline. Some engines require a higher octane (higher compression needs a slower burning gasoline) and some require a lower octane. Neither type of modern gas is "better" than the other. (No discussions of additives is necessary - it's an analogy. )
Old May 6, 2005, 10:09 PM   #3
armedandsafe

I've been loading 30-06 with IMR 4350 and standard primers for over 50 years, without ever feeling I needed magnum primers. Stick with the standards.

Get your manuals and read them. Also, get the Lyman Reloading Handbook and read it.

Be warned, though, reloading is ADDICTIVE!

Pops

If it time to bury them, it is time to dig them up.
Remember, "Behind every blade of grass."
Old May 7, 2005, 06:04 PM   #4
Tim R

Primers can make a difference on group size. I use IMR 4350 for my '06 hunting loads and use a std. CCI primer.
Old May 7, 2005, 06:46 PM   #5
DanV1317