The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old May 19, 2013, 12:52 AM   #1
MissPistol

Favorite Targets and Distances

As I go to the range to try out some guns I'll also be trying out other things. Targets are one. The range has a variety, some pictures of ghouls, human outline (looks like their backs - that's a little creepy to me), and a few more basic target-y ones. I kind of like the basic ones because they have a nice bullseye, but what do you all like to use? does it matter what you are shooting at as long as you "know" what you are aiming at? or what? I am new to handguns, having only had two sessions to date.
Old May 19, 2013, 01:09 AM   #2
Jammer Six

I use any piece of paper, and train at forty feet.
Old May 19, 2013, 02:12 AM   #3
allaroundhunter

Re: Favorite Targets and Distances

I like steel.... Plate racks and Texas Stars in particular, but any steel is preferable to paper. After that I like cardboard, like used in USPSA/IPSC and IDPA. To be honest, I have gotten fairly tired of just paper targets when shooting handguns, unless I am teaching a new shooter or just shooting some practice with a .22 lr.
Old May 19, 2013, 02:17 AM   #4
WeedWacker

Location: Body: Clarkston, Washington. Soul: LaCrosse, Wisconsin
Right now I'm focusing on mastering the fundamentals, more bulls-eye shooting than dynamic since ammo is an issue. I use a regular 10-ring bullseye target at 15 yards and move out to 25. If I decide to do double or triple tap shooting I move the target in to about 7-9 yards and use a torso and aim for A hits below the head/neck but above the A in the A-zone. (Bottom top of the sternum)
Old May 19, 2013, 02:18 AM   #5
FM12

Standard disposable paper plates. Stapel them to a backing put an aiming dot in the center. Aim shoot repeat. Replace as needed About a nickle each if that.
Old May 19, 2013, 07:18 AM   #6
ThatBeardedGuy