The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old December 23, 2005, 10:53 AM   #1
AMT8951

True story about a really stupid guy.

This is a true story concerning something that occured less than six hours ago. I work as a Cop in a small upstate NY city. I was on patrol with my partner in a nice quite residental neighberhood, he was driving. At about 4:00am we saw a well dressed (but obviously drunk) young man walking on the sidewalk, barefoot, with his shoes in his hands. This struck me as a little unusual since it was about 20 degrees outside with about four inches of snow on the ground. We stopped the car and he approached the passenger side window. He stated that he had gone out drinking with some friends and that he had become seperated from them. He went on to say that he was not from the area, and asked for directions to an address on Main St. When asked about he shoes, he stated that they were too small and were hurting his feet.
At this point I exited the vehicle since I really hate when people I don't know come up to the car and talk to me through the window. I feel it puts me at a huge tactical disadvantage if something happens.
About this time a call came over the radio about an attempted robbery which had previously occured about three blocks away.
My partner radioed in that we were out with a male subject in that area and asked for a discription of the perps. The victim gave an extremly vauge discription of four white males that had approached her in front of her home and demanded money from her.
I asked the kid if he knew anything about the incident, he said "No". I asked him if he had seen anyone else out and about, again he said "no". I asked him for his ID and he told me he didn't have his wallet with him.