The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old November 18, 2010, 10:43 AM   #1
Joey V.

Advise on twist rate and a hunting pistol from Fire-Iron Mfg?

I am considering a ML pistol for hunting For a guy named Mark Kisenwether of Fire-Iron Mfg. Anyone have one of his guns? I am rather new to BP and Twist rate and stuff like that so can someone explain some stuff to me? Mark build a
Caliber - .54
Barrel length - 16”
Rifling twist – 1:66 (round ball)

I would like my pistol to only have a 12" barrel so would the twist have to be changed? Lastly how deep should the rifling be for a ball gun? I though a ball shooter should have deep rifling but a post Mark made a while ago said a ball shooter should have shallow rifling so it can handle a massive charge in a pistol length unless I am remembering wrong.

THX
JV
Old November 18, 2010, 11:55 AM   #2
arcticap

I'm not sure how easy it is to make generalizations about pistol barrels, their twist rates and depth of rifling.
The Pedersoli Bounty Hunter has a 16 inch barrel with a 1 in 18" twist.
There are just too many types of rifling and individual loads that can be developed that could possibly provide decent performance from any given barrel and twist rate.
I personally wouldn't go with 1 in 66" twist rate but to each their own.
IIRC revolvers generally have a 1 in 16" twist and the 12 inch Remington Buffalo model has been proven to shoot round ball very accurately. The Walker revolvers do too and they have a much shorter barrel and a faster twist rate.
Some folks might build a pistol using a shallow, slow twist rifle barrel because it was available and easy to cut down and then develop a load recipe that will work very good with it.
Slow twists usually do require more powder in rifles to get acceptable accuracy verses a faster twist. But I don't know how true that holds for pistols.