The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 16, 1999, 01:31 AM   #1
Fusternc

I just purchased my first reloading kit and some supplies online. (Lee 35th Anniversary kit and Lee carbide dies )I intend on reloading for my Sig P220 .45. I ordered the 230 grain RN FMJ jacketed bullets from National bullet (I think) and I have some once fired cases on the way. Question is, what primers do you suggest and where do I get them? Also any specific powders (specific brand and type please) you guys suggest? I am quite new to guns (7 months ago), and have NEVER reloaded before nor do I know anyone who does. How well do Sig P220's handle home reloads? All I use my handgun for is target practice. Any tips on things to avoid, special techniques, etc? Thanks!

Nathan..
Old November 16, 1999, 09:16 AM   #2
karlfitt

I like Federal Primers myself, you should be able to get them at a local gun shot (my local supplier is the gun section in the local ACE hardware store).
For powder I use Bullseye. It was made by Hercules who is now Aliant powder. I am not sure if they still make all the same powders since the takeover, the can I have is a 4 pounder.
Winchester 231 would also be a good choice, but I like the Bullseye better because my gun likes it better and the charge is smaller so I get more rounds per pound.

Karl
Old November 17, 1999, 09:47 PM   #3
Paul B.

My Sig P-220A has digested everything I have put in it, so far. You might consider Alliant Unique. It works for me. Bullseye and W-231 are good too. I haven't had my Sig for too long yet, but 230 gr. hardball commercial reloads, 230 gr. cast lead, and 200 gr. cast lead semi-wadcutters have done real fine for me, with no feeding problems encountered.
Paul B.
Old November 18, 1999, 08:38 AM   #4
Fusternc