The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old December 30, 2004, 12:54 PM   #1
sdkidaho

Inexpensive but good semi-auto shotguns?

I was browsing around Walmarts page and came across some semi-auto shotguns for under $400. Now maybe I just haven't been looking much, but all the ones I've seen have been $1000 and up in cost. The ones on their site are Charles Daly, and I've no idea if this is a quality gun, or just a piece of junk.

I really don't mind my Benelli Nova pump, but some day I would like a semi-auto, and wondered if there were inexpenisve ones out there that were descent quality?
Old December 30, 2004, 07:07 PM   #2
chris in va

I'm just getting started with the shotgun thing myself, but I was very suprised to find a ton of semiauto's in pawn shops. Once you find out which ones are good, maybe a gem is sitting just down the road for half price.

For example I saw a Remington (not sure the #) for $250.
Old December 30, 2004, 09:18 PM   #3
HunterTRW

As in most things, the adage "you get what you pay for" applies to shotguns, too. Were I to start over I think that I would probably select a Remington model 1100 or 11-87 (in fact the latter was my first semi-automatic, and I still have it). Both have good barrels, light recoil, and point well.

Should the shotgun of your dreams be out of reach new, then I recommend visiting your local gun shop. Most have a variety of used guns in every configuration: single-shots, pumps, semi-automatics, over-unders, and side-by-sides. Moreover, chances are that they will have been vetted, thus you can be reasonably assured that they will be both safe and sound.

Good luck, and good shooting!
Old January 1, 2005, 09:12 PM   #4
greg531mi

Seems to be a gut of Shotguns for small game hunting around Michigan, lots of good used shotguns out there.......
Old January 4, 2005, 08:20 PM   #5
drufus