The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 14, 2015, 05:53 PM   #1
tfn41

Reloading Lead Bullets

I'm reloading 38 special and 41 magnum using a Lee Load-Master press with carbide dies. Load data is below. I'm fairly new at this, and I have a question about the little metal shavings that seem to accumulate, particularly when loading 41. The lead bullets are from Missouri Bullet Company; their Hi-Tek coated .411 trooper. The shavings seem to be coming from pressing the bullet into the cartridge in stage 4 of the press. Should I be expanding the case mouth in stage 3? I'm not because the expanded rim of the case is catching the press die in stage 4. Do I need to tinker with it until I expand the case mouth in stage 3 just large enough to accept the bullet without shaving a tiny bit of lead off the side, but small enough that it will fit the bullet seat and feed die in station 4?

I'm not talking about a huge amount of lead being shaved off. Thicker than a hair, but not by much. Is this significant?

38 special
Federal brass (this is brass I saved from factory rounds I shot)
CCI #500 primers
Hornady 158gr. LRN bullets
3.8 - 4.0 gr. Unique

41 magnum
Starline brass (new brass, or shot once by me)
CCI #300 or Remington 2 1/2 primers
Missouri 215 Gr. Hi-Tek bullets
7.7 - 8.0 gr. Unique
Old September 14, 2015, 05:56 PM   #2
Snyper

The case mouth should be flared just enough to allow the bullet to start without shaving anything off
Old September 14, 2015, 07:12 PM   #3
Nick_C_S

Quote:
The case mouth should be flared just enough to allow the bullet to start without shaving anything off.
This is true. ^^

However, with lead, coated, or even plated, that may be more flair than most realize.