The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old September 25, 2013, 04:52 PM   #1
j_bliss99

Short-Range MOA

Before I ask this, you must all know that I am a freshman in high school and I am completely new to MOA. I need it for a physics project. Now that you know this, I'll ask the question.
What are the steps for measuring MOA? I've looked all over and have not found a clear way to measure it. And to add to the challenge, I'll be using a pistol from anywhere between 10-25 ft. away from the target. And if you know that MOA isn't the best way for what I'm doing, could you recommend another way to measure accuracy? Thanks
Old September 25, 2013, 05:24 PM   #2
gothcopter

National Shooting Sports Foundation has a nice page with a simplified explanation of MOA. Really, MOA is just another way of saying "one sixtieth of a degree".

http://www.nssf.org/video/facts/MOA.cfm

Be advised that their formulae for computing MOA are a simplification, so some computational error will be introduced. For example, the correct formula for computing number of inches (y) per MOA at 4 yards would be

tan(1/60) = y/(4*36) --> y=0.0419 in

whereas the NSSF formula (which is the same formula most shooters use) would yield

4/100 = y --> y=0.04

If you haven't had trigonometry yet, you're probably best off sticking with the NSSF formula.
Old September 25, 2013, 06:01 PM   #3
allaroundhunter

There probably is a better method than worrying about MOA, but first we have to know what exactly it is that you are trying to measure.
Old September 25, 2013, 06:21 PM   #4
j_bliss99

If you want to know what my project is to help you get a better understanding of what I'm trying to measure, I am trying to see if the mass of a bullet affects the accuracy. So I am trying to measure the accuracy of a group of bullets
Old September 25, 2013, 06:32 PM   #5
Dave P