The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old October 21, 2008, 07:00 AM   #1
lon371

Do You Get Excited?

Do you still get excited when you see you game?

I have been hunting off and on since I was 13 years old. I have only hunted Deer for about the last 13 years. We live in the country, see deer frequently. I get a little excited and slow the car down every time. When hunting deer, if I get to see a deer even a doe way out of range my heart starts racing. If I have to watch it come into range, by the time it is there my breathing and heart rate is crazy. I hope I am wrong, but I will probably be one of those guys you here of having a Heart issue while hunting. Fortunately I hunt with people, and wife ALWAYS knows where I am and when I plan to be home.

Maybe it is just me. My kids get excited, but not to the extent of myself.

Be honest, I know you all are not calm cool and colective everytime.

Lonny
Old October 21, 2008, 07:22 AM   #2
12GaugeShuggoth

Quote:
but I will probably be one of those guys you here of having a Heart issue while hunting.
Sounds like a good way to go to me For me the excitement isn't so much about seeing "game" or "potential kill" .....I just enjoy being outdoors and watching nature. I get the same excitement whether I'm hunting or just watching. In my opinion anyone who claims to always be stone cold calm is either lying or hasn't been hunting very long

---Enlightenment is the ability to take infinite pains---
MOLON LABE
Old October 21, 2008, 07:22 AM   #3
lt dan

aint that the truth, and it is fun teaching the young ones about the difference in apearance of the sexes as well as maturity. this way they can see what the fuss is all about when dad starts talking about the outdoors.
Old October 21, 2008, 08:01 AM   #4
Byron Quick
Staff In Memoriam

Heart pounding? Takes a real good buck nowadays.