The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old May 27, 2020, 05:53 PM   #1
kilotanker22

6.5 grendel

Bought a 6.5 Grendel from a friend of mine. Palmetto upper, 15" m lock handguard, 18" barrel with a rifle length gas system. Has a pretty nice trigger in it, although I don't know what trigger it is. The lower was built by my friend.

Anyway, what I am looking for is advice from guys who have shot 95-100 grain bullets through a Grendel. Traditionally, does the Grendel prefer the lighter stuff? Or more so in the 120-130 range?

My philosophy of use is a home defense rifle I guess. That is why I purchased some 95 grain Vmax to load for it.

Who here shoots a Grendel? Any words of wisdom with this particular cartridge? Who makes good quality reasonably priced magazines for it?

I am no beginner, but I am brand new to this cartridge. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.
“We do not seek peace in order to be at war, but we go to war that we may have peace. Be peaceful, therefore, in warring, so that you may vanquish those whom you war against, and bring them to the prosperity of peace.
– St. Augustine
Old May 27, 2020, 07:34 PM   #2
GeauxTide

My Grendel shot 5 123 SST into .3". Haven't tried another. CFE223 is my powder, but the 8208XBR is Temp Insensitive.
Old May 27, 2020, 11:22 PM   #3
stagpanther