The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 5, 2015, 01:25 AM   #1
towman32

stuck cases 308

So I have been reloading 308 for over two years and have had this problem on multiple occasions. my rcbs and lee full length sizing\decap dies will jam. I have tried various amounts of lube. one day it will work just fine and the next "wham" a stuck case. I have cleaned the die using compressed air and looked inside to find no visible issues. what am I doing wrong? also most of the cases are once fired military. I have a neck sizing die for everything I have already shot. the lube I use is in a aerosol can and works great on my 223 progressive press.
Old April 5, 2015, 02:16 AM   #2
Lucas McCain

What brand of resizing lube are you using? There has been posts about One Shot and they are having the same problem with stuck cases. I use the RCBS lube that comes in a tube and I lube my cases on a pad. I also have Forester brush set-up and the neck gets dipped in white graphite and the neck gets wiped out by the brush. This process also is supposed to stop any corrosion that would cause increased neck tension if the cartridges, perhaps sat around to long before they get fired.

A couple things should be looked at here;
Check the wall thickness of your necks, if they are to thick they may cause a problem.

Measure the case just above the rim. you may have chamber on the high side, dimensionally, and if the brass is hardened from being fired to many times. its not resizing properly. The fix is throw them away. I don't know if its a good idea to anneal them that far down on the case.

After you have removed the stuck case can you see on the case where it was stuck?
Old April 5, 2015, 07:41 AM   #3
JeepHammer

Hornady One Shot works fine on my .223 cases, even in the Dillon progressive.

I don't have much luck with it on .308 cases either.
Don't ask me why.