The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old July 25, 2019, 03:32 PM   #1
OhioGuy

Questions about revolvers

So I'm totally new to revolvers. Many thousands of rounds of 9mm have gone through many semi autos, but my revolver count stands at 100 and that was all this week.

I know all the arguments against carrying them as primary CCW weapons. 5 shots, 6 if you're lucky, reloads more complicated than magazine changes and all that.

But dang they're easy to shoot and I kinda like them . And I never thought about how the shape of a revolver grip makes them so easy to conceal.

So for you who carry them, why don't you consider yourselves under-armed? Why aren't you rushing for the latest Sig or Glock that's cramming 10, 12 or 15 rounds into small magazines?

Please talk me out of carrying a revolver

I'd give up capacity, but they seem so easy to carry.
Old July 25, 2019, 03:42 PM   #2
mk70ss

Police carried revolvers for about 115 or so years.....so I would say they are still valid and effective if you can shoot them well. I carry a .44 Bulldog as my EDC gun
Old July 25, 2019, 04:15 PM   #3
Doyle

Most of the time, I can shoot a revolver better than I can an auto - partly because I shoot revolvers single-action style. For concealed carry, I prefer a small auto. It just feels better to me. However, if I'm hanging something on my belt without trying to conceal it (like when I'm fishing or walking around in the woods) it's going to be a revolver.

As to the number of shots, well - I've never had to use a firearm in self defense so I've no experience there. As to actually using a handgun against something other than paper, the most shots I've ever had to take at one time was 4 and that was at a pig. First shot broke his spine and he tried to crawl away using his front legs. Took me 3 more shots to hit him right and stop him.
Old July 25, 2019, 04:20 PM   #4
Ben Dover