The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old November 10, 2001, 07:52 PM   #1
saands

Urethane as a stock bedding material?

Just a little history ... I have started to look at making myself a muzzle brake and I ran across a Browning with their BOSS system which in addition to being a muzzle brake has a moveable weight at the muzzle that allows you to fine tune the barrel's vibrations for a given load. As a mechanical engineer I have to admit that the idea appealed to me, so I looked up their patent at the US Patent Office (incredibly informative ... as patent applications are required to be) and it mentioned their action bedding process and referred to Devcon's Flexane 94 polyurethane (I believe that the 94 refers to the durometer) which is a pretty hard rubber. I have alway seen Acraglass mentioned as the standby, and have always assumed that it is like an epoxy (very rigid). Am I mistaken about the Acraglass being rigid? Has anyone tried bedding with a firm moldable rubber?

This was just a passing curiosity until I started getting more and more impresssed with the engineering at Browning (at least that which was reflected in their BOSS patent) ... I am inclined to give them the benefit of the doubt on the polyurethane idea

Thanks,
Saands
Old November 12, 2001, 01:58 PM   #2
UK2TX

Hello Saands,

What was the patent number? I'd like to review it as well.

As for Acraglass v. flexable bedding, since the Acraglass would make a flexible receiver "stiffer" that might explain it being the de facto choice. I guess, and it is a SWAG, the flexable bedding would allow the damping to be uniform, a very desirable feature, especially with the BOSS system. The damping would provide gross damping of the barrel with the BOSS part actually providing the fine tuning.