The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Closed Thread

Old June 17, 2010, 06:07 PM   #1
Brit

The Warrior mind set, is thinking too slow?

Discussion on the Warrior Mind Set.

What I am referring too, is training a person, or group, to respond to a threat, but a group who are from a part of the City/World, that violence, fighting, is not in their lives.

I spent 5 years as a bouncer (we would say Doorman! Posh) 1960 till 64, The Cavern Club, of The Beatles time, got stabbed twice there, and a year at The Blue Angel on Seal Street, in Liverpool 8. This was Liverpool UK.

After you had been in a few fights, no thought was quick enough, thinking took to much time, was too slow.
You had to respond subconsciously.

A young man tried to kill me with a home made Ice Pick kind of weapon, He thrust this at my sternum, my wrist took it. I had been working at the Cavern for a couple of years then, if that had been week two, not year two, I would have been dead.

I think one way to describe this, the Warrior Mindset is kind of close, is this, every one is connected, almost like we all have connections to each other, when dealing with body part strikes, fist/feet/knees/elbows/head butts, or hand held weapons, knives, clubs, chains, things of that nature, people around you move, so do you.

These movements are mostly subconscious, you need to have been in many of these situations to develop this, some never do, and quit before they are hurt badly (or after they are) body language is so important, you need to learn to master that very soon.

The turn of a foot, twist of hip, dip of a shoulder. These are all tell tales, the ones who miss these, tend to sport bent beaks early on, at 74 mine is still straight!

In this PC society we live in, how do you teach this is my question, I have it, but not from these times. From the 60s, in a tough City.

Last edited by Brit; June 17, 2010 at 09:58 PM.
Old June 17, 2010, 06:52 PM   #2