The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 9, 2010, 03:01 AM   #1
SKULLANDCROSSBONES65

Stuck case removal methods

G'day. I would like to hear of different methods to remove stuck cases from a die.
Who has a method that dosen't damage the brass?
Old February 9, 2010, 03:24 AM   #2
colospgsAVID

you can call that brass done. I've never saved a stuck case. You'll be lucky to save the beller. On the one stuck case I've had I had to buy a new die.Got it out but ruined the beller. I used everything to get the case out I had... channel locks, vise-grips Et Cetera There are tools for this. I don't have them though.

EDIT: I am a mechanic and I am pretty resourceful.
Old February 9, 2010, 05:09 AM   #3
Shoney

Sorry I don't have this in metric/

13/64" drill bit to drill out flash hole

1/4" Tap to tap the inside of the drilled out flash hole

1/2" Socket (1/4" drive) goes up against die and allows stuck case to be pulled into it

1/4" x 1 1/2" Washer on top of socket (keeps bolt from gouging the top of the socket)

1/4" x 1" Machine bolt goes into threaded flash hole and is turned to pull case out
If you need extra insurance, complete the above to get the setup ready, leave the die in the feezer over night, then pull.
I pledge allegiance to the Flag - - -, and to the Republic for which it stands….Our Forefathers were brilliant for giving us a Republic, not a democracy! Do you know the difference??? and WHY?http://www.wallbuilders.com/LIBissue...les.asp?id=111
Old February 9, 2010, 09:40 AM   #4
Uncle Buck

I used a tap to remove the two stuck cases I had. I figured the case was done and would not be able to be re-used, so I cut the head off of the case and ran a tap into it.

The die was held in a vice (threads protected) and I would slowly turn the tool while tapping on the vice grips which held the tap. (Tapping the tap? Sounds like a kids story)