The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 10, 2021, 06:18 PM   #1
chris downs

Cracked Nickel .45 acp Case Mouths

So I come across some cracked case mouths from time to time. Though my nickel plated .45 acp cases amount to less than 5% of total .45 acp cases, almost all the cracked case mouths are nickel plated cases.
Old April 10, 2021, 06:32 PM   #2
Jim Watson

Yup.
Scrap brass box, move on.
Old April 10, 2021, 07:14 PM   #3
gwpercle

For some reason , I'm not sure why , but nickled cases seem to crack sooner than plain brass . It may have something to do with the plating process and I've noticed the newer nickled cases don't last as long as the old nickled cases .
For maximum case reloading life ...stick with plain brass . I have some old brass Military Match cases that I have been reloading target loads with for 25 years .
Gary
Old April 10, 2021, 07:48 PM   #4
Nick_C_S

Quote:
For some reason, I'm not sure why, but nickel cases seem to crack sooner than plain brass.
That has been my experience over the decades as well. I don't know why either.
Old April 10, 2021, 10:25 PM   #5
44 AMP
Staff

I have seen a lot of nickeled cases crack at the mouth over the years. I also have some nickeled brass that has been loaded so many times the nickel is worn off in stripes and they have not cracked.

These are cases I got in the 70s and many probably date from the 60s or even earlier.

I guess they just don't make them the way they used to!
Old April 11, 2021, 06:11 AM   #6
Big Wes

I believe that the nickel coating makes the case more brittle but also makes for easier extraction especially from revolvers.
Old April 11, 2021, 07:43 AM   #7
NoSecondBest