The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old October 21, 2019, 02:41 AM   #1
VintageFan

Trigger return spring

Hi all!

Does anyone have a tip what could be used as an alternative to a old v-shaped trigger return spring? It's the small v-shaped spring under the cylinder on the frame of an old belgian bulldog revolver.

One possibility is to make one, but I have no experience on that, so I was wondering is there anything modern that could be modified and used instead?

I see that wolff makes a kit that has somewhat similar looking v-springs, those could be modified to work, but is there any similar springs on everyday items or hardware store that would work?

Thanks in advance!
Old October 21, 2019, 01:10 PM   #2
T. O'Heir

"...to make one..." Easier said than done. Making springs requires proper spring steel and the equipment to heat treat it.
Give Gunparts a call. They sometimes have stuff they don't put on their site.
I'm wondering if a No. 4 Lee-Enfield extractor spring is close in size.
1,024 pixels is too big.
Old October 21, 2019, 01:23 PM   #3
VintageFan

I meant with making one that I could modify a spring that has close resemblance to that spring I'm missing. Maybe a poor choice of words.

That lee-enfield extractor spring has a somewhat similar shape to the trigger reset spring. I need to get the dimension. I also saw something similar at gun parts corp., but I think it was out of stock and can't even find it now.
Old October 21, 2019, 04:09 PM   #4
Bill DeShivs

If you have all of the broken spring, I can make you one.
Old October 23, 2019, 07:27 AM   #5
VintageFan

Thanks but it's missing altogether.
Old October 23, 2019, 01:33 PM   #6
T. O'Heir

Kind of suspect an Enfield extractor spring would be too small anyway.
A Belgian Bulldog revolver is also known as a British Bulldog. They were made by everybody and his brother plus all their cousins. Not that it helps. Gunparts is sold out of springs for 'em.