The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Closed Thread

Old January 16, 2021, 02:10 PM   #1
Radny97

How to lessen the chances of prosecution following a self defense shooting.

Bear with me here. I’ll start by saying that I am a practicing attorney in a very gun friendly state, but I don’t do any criminal or firearms law on a regular basis. I’ve been thinking about some of the factors that one should take into consideration when carrying in order to lessen the chances of being prosecuted after you’ve been involved in a legal self defense shooting. I’ll emphasize that there’s no need in this thread to debate whether a shooting is legal or not. The underlying premise is that you were legally carrying, you rationally perceived a direct and imminent deadly threat, you engaged the threat with your firearm until the threat was neutralized. So the underlying premise is that you did nothing wrong. But we all know that sometimes the investigators don’t get all the facts at first and may have thought you did something wrong and you end up getting charged. Or you live in an area that is not gun friendly or you have an overly zealous or anti gun prosecutor.
So these are things I think you can do that will either assist the investigators in concluding that you did nothing wrong, or help the prosecutor conclude that your case is unclear enough that they don’t want to bring the case, or that will help the judge or jury acquit you.
Also to be clear, the law doesn’t require any of these things and no one has to do them, but I think they would help.