The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old September 8, 2009, 12:19 PM   #1
Glock_fan

Stupid noob question

Hi guys, I'm new to shotguns so I have a stupid question for you. When I'm cleaning the barrel is it OK to use a brass (or whatever they're made of) bore brush to clean the inside of the barrel with the choke still inside? I currently have a modified choke in it right now. If it is OK to do is there any chokes I shouldn't use? The reason I ask this is because in my limited knowedge of shotguns I was led to think that the chokes are cylindrical in shape inside, so I didn't know if a brass bore brush would damage the choke when you jam it through. Thanks in advance for your answers!

-Kurt

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RR9RN_iSKtg
Old September 8, 2009, 12:23 PM   #2
JWT

No problem at all using the bronze brush on a shotgun barrel with the choke tube in it. It's what should be done.

What you don't want to do is use the bronze brush on the barrel with the choke tube out of it. There's a chance that could damage the treads and you could have problems getting the choke tube back in.
Old September 8, 2009, 12:40 PM   #3
oneounceload

Bronze isn't as strong as steel and the choke tube threads AND the threads in the barrel both need to be well-cleaned. Use a good brush and good cleaner. Once cleaned put some grease (preferable) or a light oil on the choke tube threads before returning into the barrel. Don't forget to clean old oil and lube from every other part and re-oil or re-lube as directed by the maker.
Old September 8, 2009, 01:27 PM   #4
Skans

I remove the chokes when cleaning the barrels. I want to make sure that I put a tiny bit of lube on the threads to keep it easy for me to screw them in and out.
Old September 8, 2009, 01:57 PM   #5
BigJimP

I would not remove the chokes when you clean the barrel - although it isn't likely - you might screw up the threads inside the barrel ...