The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 11, 2011, 11:42 PM   #1
finz50

Beginner....help me choose my equipmnet!

New potential reloader here asking for some advice. Seriously looking to get into reloading, so figured I'd see what advice you all might have for me. Right now I am an NRA instructor and newbie to IDPA shooting. As a result I shoot around 200-500 rounds per month, depending on how much available time I have. I'm looking at reloading .380, 9mm, .45, possibly .38sp/.357 mag for handguns and more than likely rifle ammo in .223/5.56 and 30-06 calibers. I don't shoot enough shotgun at this time to justify reloading it anytime soon.

I'm presently reading the ABC's of Reloading (9th edition) and plan on taking the NRA Metallic Reloading Course (online, unfortunately) so I can get "smart" on the subject before I get in over my head. I want to take it slow and make sure I understand every step of the way and am 100% confident that I want to start with a single-stage setup (and potentially move to a turret or progressive a few years down the road).

I'm torn right now between two setups: The Hornady Lock-N-Load Classic Kitand the Lee Breech Lock Anniversary Kit. I can get the Hornady for around $320 shipped or the Lee for $110 locally. The Hornady appears, for whatever reason to me, to be better made than the Lee. I am not sure that I can justify the difference though in the price...that's what's killing me! I know Lee's reputation is somewhat questionable by some folks. But the Hornady LnL costs 3x as much...either way I'm not one that likes to look back and regret things so that's why my gut tells me to get the LnL, but I also don't like spending money I don't need to so my brain keeps pulling me towards the Lee..aarrgghhh....

Also debating between the Lyman Twin Turbo an Lyman 1200 Pro tumblers...thoughts?