The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old March 4, 2018, 11:59 PM   #1
Stats Shooter

Carrying 1911 in condition 2

When I was in the Navy, we had 4 conditions of readiness for pistols.

Condition 4: Unloaded (no mag, no round in chamber)

Condition 3: Full mag inserted, no round chambered, hammer down

Condition 2: (Only applicable to 1911 single action pistols) Mag inserted, round chambered, hammer down.

Condition 1: Round chambered, mag inserted, hammer cocked, thumb safety on. (hammer down on DA pistols)

Then unofficially condition 0: Safety off ready to fire.

I am new to 1911's, but understand how they work internally. Why does everyone frown on carrying in condition 2?

Everything I read says carry in condition 1 or 3 but not 2. Some claim condition 3 is better than 2 because the slide is easier to pull back than the hammer but I disagree. And eith practice it could become 2nd nature. Also, condition 2 allows you to carry +1 more round over condition 3.

The only issue I see is that there is no decocking mechanism so you have to carefully drop the hammer but as but beyond that what's the problem?

Of course condition 1 is best for most situational carry options, but I can see where someone might prefer condition 2.
Old March 5, 2018, 12:09 AM   #2
Tacticool1976

Ok, this is what i do, when i carry my 1911..... i always carry in condition 1....

i also practice drawing and flipping my thumb down on the safety at the same time i draw...

As for doing condition 3 ? you are asking for a crap load of flak..... so now when you draw you have to rack the slide and then aim, instead of just drawing and aiming....

and for condition 2...... i dont even think that would work in 1911's since they are a single action trigger, not a DA/SA style trigger.....

Last edited by Spats McGee; March 5, 2018 at 07:17 AM. Reason: Removing profanity
Old March 5, 2018, 12:12 AM   #3
Tacticool1976