The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old September 28, 2009, 12:47 AM   #1
Oldfalguy

Lead removal

I have been scrubbing and wiping the barrel of my original remington and it seems there must still be plenty more to remove-
What are ya'll using? I was using carbon 2000 from the Slip people

Mark
Old September 28, 2009, 06:55 AM   #2
Hawg

How long are you letting it soak? Your barrel must be pretty well pitted to even be getting leaded.
Old September 28, 2009, 09:03 AM   #3
madcratebuilder

Mark have you tried a Lewis lead remover? Basically a very fine mesh steel screen you pull through the barrel.
Old September 28, 2009, 10:46 AM   #4
Oldfalguy

I might not be letting it soak for very long- perhaps 3-5 minutes then I hit it with 10 strokes from a SS tornado brush- something I have never done before except rarely on a shotgun to remove bits of plastic from the wads.

Yes it has some pitting but after the first 10 trys the rifling sure is showing up better. I mean its 145 years old and don't expect it to be pristine just want it clean.

If I can find some Lewis I will give it a whirl.
I have the carbon Cutter, Hoppes and Sweets but its mainly for copper removal and most of all I do not want to do any harm to the remaining blue finish.
Old September 28, 2009, 12:50 PM   #5
NWPilgrim

I have heard that letting Kano Kroil soak into the barrel will lift the lead right out. I'm going to order some and try it out.

I also have used a "Lead Free" cloth. It is a cloth impregnated with a thick yellow paste. I use it mostly to clean carbon blacking from stainless steel revolver cylinder faces. It will remove blue finish if applied. I have used it to remove lead from a couple of old timer bores. It works very fast and well. Just keep it away from the blued exterior, and clean out thoroughly with bore cleaner/CLP.