The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old January 11, 2005, 12:18 PM   #1
zimm

Best clays shotgun for under $1000?

I'm going to stop converting my 870 express back and forth and make it my permanent defensive gun. Now I need a new gun for trap and to try out sporting clays (I've never done it before).

I'll have to wait on my dream Citori XT trap model for a few years (I can't blow $2200 on a shotgun).

What's the best trap/sporting clays gun on a budget? I don't care for looks, just quality and function. I'm leaning towards an 11-87 or maybe one of those cheaper under overs. I'd really like to get some recommendations. Someday when I can get a citori, the "budget" gun will make a great loaner for friends trying out clays too.

I'm not even that good, I shoot about 17-18 out of 25 in trap so I don't need anything super high end.
Old January 11, 2005, 06:05 PM   #2
BLKLABMAN

Sporting Clay's shotgun.

semi-auto's.
1.Benelli SuperSport- What I shoot , and she shoot like dream. Recoil is the same as a gas shotgun.
2.Beretta 391. On the money circuit the 391 is the most popular semi-auto.
3 Beretta 391 Tecknys
11-87's seem to go down all the time during Tournaments, especially the 250 rounder's.

I would suggest the 391 Sporting Clay's. The base SC model can be had here new for $750
Plus by going to one of these you can adjust the drop and cast yourself, and wont have to fool with a gunsmith like you would an O/U.
These are just my opinions, I'm sure others will give some great advice.
Old January 11, 2005, 06:43 PM   #3
K80Geoff

The old Remington 1100 is still a good choice. If you get into serious competition, buy a backup 1100.
Old January 12, 2005, 05:11 PM   #4
P102

Beretta or Benelli.