The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old September 1, 2017, 10:44 PM   #1
Nwilliams184

AR Free Float Help

I want to free float my handguard but I'm new to this, I plan on having it professionally done. What all do I need to purchase? Just the handguard and a low profile gas block? I have a M&P Sport II and was looking to purchase a Midwest Industries handguard.

Thanks
Old September 1, 2017, 11:22 PM   #2
HiBC

I'd suggest talking with a customer service rep at your forend manufacturer,and maybe your gunsmith first.
You can get good and not so good info here.
Old September 1, 2017, 11:28 PM   #3
Nwilliams184

thanks
Old September 2, 2017, 09:55 AM   #4
Metal god

I agree with HiBC in part . What you need depends on what you have and what you're going to get . Some rail systems connect right to a standard barrel nut while others need a proprietary barrel nut and sometimes you buy the rail and that proprietary barrel nut is not included . You see this a lot at gun shows . So talking directly with the manufacture should get you exactly what you need to move forward .

Taking it to a gun smith is likely a good idea . I've installed many and the last one I installed I could not get the barrel nut to index far enough for the rail to line up correctly . It turned out I needed to use my upper receiver lapping tool to remove a small amount of material from the receiver in order to get the barrel nut to index over enough . If I had not had the lapping tool I would have been dead in the water on that build . Well I could have shimmed it but don't like that idea .

I almost always write my posts regardless of content in a jovial manor and intent . If that's not how you took it , please try again .

Last edited by Metal god; September 2, 2017 at 10:05 AM.
Old September 2, 2017, 08:37 PM   #5
B-Shot